Skip to main content Smithsonian Institution

China: Music from the People's Republic [sound recording]

Catalog Data

Hupeh Opera Troupe Orchestra  Search this
Honan Theatrical School  Search this
Carawan, Candie  Search this
Carawan, Guy  Search this
Physical description:
1 phonograph record : analog, 33 1/3 rpm ; 12 in
Chinese  Search this
Musical sound recordings
recorded by Guy and Candie Carawan.
Recorded in: China.
Table of contents:
Commune members-Song in praise -I want to be a true revolutionary-Pipa ensemble-Sons & daughters-There's a clear sun-Dedicated to the liberation-People love Chairman Mao-A new liik has come-Sheng duet-Yann Shin-Girls singing class-Boys singing class-Erhu solo-New Yellow River-Song of the fishing men-Mountain commune celebrating
Track information:
101 Commune Members are Sunflowers / Honan Theatrical School
102 A Song in Praise of People's Revolutionary Army / Honan Theatrical School
103 I Want to Be a True Revolutionary / Honan Theatrical School
104 Pipa Ensemble / Honan Theatrical School
105 Sons and Daughters ofthe Grassland / Honan Theatrical School
106 There's a Clear Sun in Peking / Honan Theatrical School
106 Harvest Song / Honan Theatrical School
107 Dedicated to the Liberation of Mankind / Honan Theatrical School
108 People Love Chairman Mao / Honan Theatrical School
201 A New Look Has Come to Our Mountain Village / Honan Theatrical School. Ken bau
202 Sheng Duet / Hupeh Opera Troupe Orchestra. Sheng (Musical instrument)
203 Yang Chin / Hupeh Opera Troupe Orchestra. Qin (Musical instrument)
204 Excerpt of Azalea Mountain / Honan Theatrical School
205 Boy's Singing Class with Teacher / Honan Theatrical School
206 Erhu Solo / Honan Theatrical School. Er hu
208 Song of the Fishing Men (Cheng Solo) / Honan Theatrical School. Zheng
207 New Yellow River The (Cheng Solo) / Honan Theatrical School. Zheng
209 Many Hands are Working / Hupeh Opera Troupe Orchestra
209 Tachai Road is Wide and Bright / Hupeh Opera Troupe Orchestra
209 Celebration / Hupeh Opera Troupe Orchestra
Repository Loc.:
Smithsonian Institution, Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage, Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and Collections, 600 Maryland Ave., S.W., Suite 2001, Washington, D.C. 20024. Call 202-633-7322 for appointment. Fax: 202-633-7019. Email:
Political ballads and songs  Search this
World music  Search this
Ken bau  Search this
Sheng (Musical instrument)  Search this
Qin (Musical instrument)  Search this
Er hu  Search this
Zheng  Search this
Students  Search this
Local number:
Rounder 4008
Restrictions & Rights:
Restrictions on access. No duplication allowed listening and viewing for research purposes only
See more items in:
Moses and Frances Asch Collection, 1939-1986 228428
Data Source:
Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and Collections