Skip to main content Smithsonian Institution

Fast Folk Musical Magazine, The: Vol. 4, #8: Toronto [sound recording]

Catalog Data

Snider, Jamie  Search this
Garrett, Bill  Search this
Stubbs, Curley Boy  Search this
Hammond, Marie-Lynn  Search this
Soberman, Allan  Search this
Sinclair, Alex  Search this
Gordon, James  Search this
McKennitt, Loreena  Search this
Woodhead, David  Search this
Hughes, Brian  Search this
Konig, Tex  Search this
Ross, Don  Search this
Schroder, Oliver  Search this
McGann, Ilene  Search this
Mulrooney, Sean  Search this
Tamblyn, Ian  Search this
Guigion, Fred  Search this
Carpenter, Bob  Search this
Woodhouse, David  Search this
Crowe, Catherine  Search this
Goodfellow, Ian  Search this
Gould, Martin  Search this
Harrison, Tim  Search this
Sellwood, Ron  Search this
Mills, Paul  Search this
Ferrier, Trevor  Search this
Coppins, Grier  Search this
Tamarack  Search this
Eye Music  Search this
Rare Air  Search this
Meyer, Richard A.  Search this
Field worker:
Dobbs, David  Search this
Seitz, David  Search this
Physical description:
1 phonograph record : analog, 33 1/3 rpm ; 12 in
Canadians  Search this
Phonograph records
United States
APR 1988
1) UIC
(Jamie Snider)
Jamie Snider- Guitar & Vocal
2) Railroad Line
(Paul Craft)
Bill Garrett- Guitar & Vocal
Curly Boy Stubbs- Guitar
3) Down on the Station
(Marie-Lynn Hammond)
Marie-Lynn Hammond- Guitar & Vocal
Allan Soberman- Electric Bass
Evelyn Datl- Keyboards
4) Les Raftsmen
(Traditional- French)
Alex Sinclair-- Lead Vocal & Guitar
James Gordon- Vocal & Bodran
David Haughton- Percussion
Jeff Bird- Fiddle
5) The Stolen Child
(William Butler Yeats: poem; Music by Loreena McKennitt)
Loreena McKennitt- Harp
David Woodhead- Fretless Bass & Synthesizer
Brian Hughes- Guitar & Guitar Synthesizer
6) Ballad of the Springhill Mine Disaster
(Ewan MacColl)
Tex Konig - Guitar & Vocal
7) Shorelines
(Oliver Schroer)
Don Ross- Guitar
Oliver Schroer- Violin
1) Isabella Gunn
(Ilene McGann)
Ilene McGann- Guitar & Vocal
Sean Mulrooney- Bass Guitar
2) North Vancouver Island Song
(Ian Tamblyn)
Ian Tamblyn- Guitar & Vocal
Fred Guigon- Guitar
3) Falling Night
(Bob Carpenter)
Bob Carpenter- Guitar & Vocal
David Woodhead- Fretless Bass
4) A Young Girl Cut Down in her Prime
Catherine Crowe- Vocal
Ian Goodfellow- Uillean Pipes
Martin Gould-Guitar & Vocal
5) Innocent Eyes
(Tim Harrison)
Tim Harrison-Guitar & Vocal
Ron Sellwood- Accordion
Paul Mills- Guitar
David Woodhead-Bass
6) New Swing Reel
(Grier Coppins)
Trevor Ferrier- Percussion
Dick Murai- Bass
Grier Coppins- and Patrick O'Gorman- Highland Pipes
This record is drawn from two concerts held in Toronto on May 24th, and May 31st 1987
Sound recording was done by David Dobbs of the CBC. Sound reinforcement for the concert was provided by Pete Medvick
Hosts for the May 24th Concert were Steve Mendel and Sylvia Tyson.
Host for the May 31st Concert was David essig
Our heartfelt thanks to all the performers who participated in both concerts.
Concert Organizers were Bill Garrett, Kelly McGowan,Don Ross, Keira McArthur, Dianne Myers, Marcus Vichert and Paul Mills
Concert Volunteers: were Ian Andrew, Liz Chappell, George Farmer,
Patrick McGowan, Lesley Mocsan, Kenn Ross,David Warren,
and Gary Wegg
Special thanks to Mike Rogers who started it all
Concerts in Toronto recorded by the CBC
The Fast Folk Musical Magazine
is published by the Fast Folk Musical Magazine, Inc.
a not for profit corporation
PO Box 938 Village Station
New York, NY 10014
ISSN # 8755-9137
Richard Meyer
Associate Editors
Hugh Blumenfeld
Jackson Braider
Recording Engineers
David Seitz (US)
David Dobbs (Canada)
Office Manager
Josh Joffen
Ray Lewis
Art Director
Giancarlo Biagi
Assistant Art Directors
Jill Berkee
Germana Pucci
Cover Production Consultant
Kim Llewllyn
Contributing Copy Editor
Sharon Fagin
Legal Consultant
Ray Korona
Photo Editor
Barbara Krinitz
Recrod Review Editor
Josh Joffen
General Staff/Contributors
Gerry Hinson, Brian Rose, Steve Packenham,
Christine Lavin, Lillie Palmer,Sherwood Ross.
David Roth, Peter Spencer, Dave Elder, Debbie Rose
Kate Heald, Jay Rosen, Al Schere,
Steve Pritchard, Ken Brown, Dianne Myers
Editor n' Chef
Germana Pucci
Foundig Editor
Jack Hardy
Editorial- International relations- Richard Meyer
Clubs in Toronto- Pritchard/Myers
Fast Folk Visits Toronto-Ken Brown
Alan Stivell- Jackson Braider
Rare Air interview- Hugh Blumenfeld
Discography/ Bios
Recording location: Canada,Ontario-Toronto
Track information:
101. UIC / Jamie Snider. Guitar
102. Railroad Line / Bill Garrett, Curley Boy Stubbs. Guitar. Craft,Paul
103. Down on the Station / Marie-Lynn Hammond, Allan Soberman. Guitar
104. Les Raftsmen / Alex Sinclair, James Gordon, Tamarack. Guitar. French. Traditional French
105. The Stolen Child / Loreena McKennitt, David Woodhead, Brian Hughes. Guitar. Yeats, William Butler & McKennitt, Loreena
106. The Ballad of the Springhill Mine Disaster / Tex Konig. Guitar. MacColl
107. Shorelines / Don Ross, Oliver Schroder, Eye Music. Guitar. Schroder,Oliver
201. Isabella Gunn / Ilene McGann, Sean Mulrooney. Guitar,Bass
202. North Vancouver Island Song / Ian Tamblyn, Fred Guigion. Guitar
203. Falling Night / Bob Carpenter, David Woodhouse. Guitar,Bass
204. A Young Girl Cut Down in Her Prime / Catherine Crowe, Ian Goodfellow, Martin Gould. Pipes-Uileann,Guitar. Traditional
205. Innocent Eyes / Tim Harrison, Ron Sellwood, Paul Mills. Guitar,Bass,Accordion
206. New Swing Reel / Trevor Ferrier, Grier Coppins, Rare Air. Pipes-Highland,Percussion. Coppins, Grier
Repository Loc.:
Smithsonian Institution, Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage, Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and Collections, 600 Maryland Ave., S.W., Suite 2001, Washington, D.C. 20024. Call 202-633-7322 for appointment. Fax: 202-633-7019. Email:
Popular music  Search this
Restrictions & Rights:
Restrictions on access
See more items in:
Fast Folk Musical Magazine Collection
Data Source:
Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and Collections