Skip to main content Smithsonian Institution

Catalog Data

Smithsonian Institution Office of the Secretary Secretary's Executive Committee  Search this
Ripley, S. Dillon (Sidney Dillon) 1913-2001  Search this
Adams, Robert McC (Robert McCormick) 1926-2018  Search this
Smithsonian Institution Office of the Secretary Secretariat  Search this
Mixed archival materials
Agency History
This is an agency history. It does not describe actual records. The Smithsonian Institution Archives uses these histories as brief accounts of the origin, development, and functions of an office or administrative unit to set that unit in its historical context. To find information on record holdings, please double-click the highlighted field "Creator/Author", which will open on a brief view of relevant records.
Guide to the Smithsonian Archives
Smithsonian Year
Shortly after Sidney Dillon Ripley became the Smithsonian's eighth Secretary in 1964, he created a group of advisors named the Secretariat. It was composed of the Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Director General of Museums, Assistant Secretary for Science, Assistant Secretary for History and Art, Assistant Secretary for Public Service, Treasurer, Director of the Office of Academic Programs, General Counsel, Director of the Office of Personnel and Management Resources, the Assistant to the Secretary, the Public Affairs Officer, the Director of the Office of International Activities, and the Secretary's Executive Assistant.
From this group the Secretary obtained such information and advice as he wished in making operating decisions for the Smithsonian. In 1971, as a result of a study of management practices at the Institution, the Secretary streamlined this group, renaming it the Executive Committee. Its members were the Assistant Secretaries for Science, History and Art, and Public Service; the Treasurer, the Executive Officer for Supporting Services, and ex officio, the General Counsel. The new committee continued to advise the Secretary and was given more responsibility for making decisions than its predecessor. In 1985, Secretary Robert McCormick Adams changed the name of the group to the Secretary's Management Committee.
Repository Loc.:
Smithsonian Institution Archives, Capital Gallery, Suite 3000, MRC 507; 600 Maryland Avenue, SW; Washington, DC 20024-2520
Local number:
SIA AH00096
Data Source:
Smithsonian Institution Archives