Skip to main content Smithsonian Institution

Catalog Data

United States National Museum Division of Mineralogy and Petrology  Search this
Clarke, Frank Wigglesworth 1847-1931  Search this
Tassin, Wirt deVivier 1869-1915  Search this
Pogue, Joseph E (Joseph Ezekiel) 1887-1971  Search this
Wherry, Edgar Theodore 1885-  Search this
Foshag, William F (William Frederick) 1894-1956  Search this
Henderson, Edward P (Edward Porter) 1898-  Search this
Switzer, George S (George Shirley) 1915-2008  Search this
Clarke, Roy S  Search this
Desautels, Paul E  Search this
Mixed archival materials
Agency History
This is an agency history. It does not describe actual records. The Smithsonian Institution Archives uses these histories as brief accounts of the origin, development, and functions of an office or administrative unit to set that unit in its historical context. To find information on record holdings, please double-click the highlighted field "Creator/Author", which will open on a brief view of relevant records.
Guide to the Smithsonian Archives
Annual Report of the Smithsonian Institution
Annual Report of the United States National Museum
A Division of Mineralogy was created as a part of the newly established Department of Geology, United States National Museum (USNM), in 1897. Frank Wigglesworth Clarke, who had served as Honorary Curator of Mineralogy in the USNM since 1883, assumed the same position in the new Division. In 1911, the name was changed to the Division of Mineralogy and Petrology. In 1942, the Division of Mineralogy and Petrology was combined with the Division of Physical and Chemical Geology (Systematic and Applied) under the former name. The Department of Geology was abolished in 1963 as a part of a reorganization in the Museum of Natural History. At that time, the Division of Mineralogy and Petrology became the newly created Department of Mineral Sciences.
Curators and research staff of the Division of Mineralogy and Petrology and its predecessor divisions included Frank Wigglesworth Clarke, Honorary Curator, 1897-1931; Wirt deVivier Tassin, Assistant Curator, 1897-1909; Joseph E. Pogue, Assistant Curator, 1909-1913; Edgar Theodore Wherry, Assistant Curator, 1913-1917; William F. Foshag, Assistant Curator and Curator, 1919-1956; Edward P. Henderson, Associate Curator, 1942-1963; George Switzer, Associate Curator and Curator, 1948-1963; Roy S. Clarke, Chemist, 1957-1963; and Paul E. Desautels, Associate Curator, 1957-1963.
For a history of the larger creating unit, refer to "Forms part of" above.
Repository Loc.:
Smithsonian Institution Archives, Capital Gallery, Suite 3000, MRC 507; 600 Maryland Avenue, SW; Washington, DC 20024-2520
Geology  Search this
Petrology  Search this
Mineralogy  Search this
Gems  Search this
Local number:
SIA AH00046
Data Source:
Smithsonian Institution Archives