Skip to main content Smithsonian Institution

Catalog Data

Adolphus W. Greely, American, 1844-1935  Search this
Elisha Kent Kane, American, 1820 - 1857  Search this
Matthew Henson, American, 1866 - 1955  Search this
Robert Edwin Peary, American, 1856 - 1920  Search this
Vilhjalmur Stefansson, Canadian, 1879 - 1962  Search this
paper; ink (multicolored); adhesive / photogravure
Postage Stamps
United States of America
A block of four 22-cent stamps which commemorate five intrepid Polar explorers were issued May 28, 1986, in North Pole, Alaska.
The stamps honor Elisha Kent Kane, Adolphus W. Greely, Robert E. Peary and Matthew Henson, and Vilhjalmur Stefansson.
Kane opened the door to the North Pole by sailing his tiny ship Advance northward, perhaps to a sighting of the Polar Sea itself. Greely's party reached a point that was the closest any explorer had come to the North Pole, a record unsurpassed for twenty-one years. Robert E. Peary and his resourceful assistant Matthew Henson undertook perilous expeditions that ended in a triumph at the North Pole. Vilhjalmur Stefansson explored the Beaufort Sea, the last unknown Arctic area.
The designer of the stamps was Dennis Lyall of Norwalk, Connecticut. Lyall also has designed commemoratives which honored Joseph Priestley (issued in 1982), American Inventors (block of four, 1984) and Horace Moses (1985), and regular stamps in the Great Americans Series that depicted Thomas Gallaudet (1983) and Walter Lippmann (1985).
The stamps were printed in the photogravure process by the American Bank Note Company and issued in panes of fifty.
Postal Bulletin (May 22, 1986).
Maps  Search this
The Cold War (1945-1990)  Search this
U.S. Stamps  Search this
Credit line:
Copyright United States Postal Service. All rights reserved.
Object number:
See more items in:
National Postal Museum Collection
Data Source:
National Postal Museum