Formerly attributed to Zhao Boju (ca. 1120s-ca.1162) Search this
Ink and color on silk
H x W (image): 93.1 × 56.4 cm (36 11/16 × 22 3/16 in)
Previous custodian or owner:
Shi Minggu (1434 - 1496)
Pang Yuanji 龐元濟 (1864-1949)
Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer ((1875-1959) and (1887-1970))
Elizabeth Meyer Lorentz (1913 - 2001)
Shi Minggu (1434-1496), Wujiang, Jiangsu province. 
Pang Yuanji (1864-1949), Shanghai. 
From 1916 to 1970
Eugene Meyer (1875-1959) and Agnes E. Meyer (1887-1970), New York, NY, Washington, DC, and Mt. Kisco, NY, purchased from Pang Yuanji in 1916. 
From 1970 to 1998
Elizabeth Meyer Lorentz (1914-2001), Armonk, NY, by descent from her mother Agnes E. Meyer.
Freer Gallery of Art, gift of Elizabeth Meyer Lorentz. 
 The Ming connoisseur Shi Minggu’s collector seal is located on the painting.
 The painting was published and illustrated in Pang Yuanji’s catalogue, Antique Famous Chinese Paintings Collected by P’ang Lai Ch’en, vol. 1 (Shanghai, Privately published by Pang Yuanji, 1916), no. 23: “Ts’ao Po Chü [Zhao Boju], Pines in the Court.” A seal with Pang Yuanji’s study name, Xuzhai, is located on the paining.
 In 1916 Pang Yuanji, with the assistance of Pang Zanchen and Seaouke Yue, sent a group of paintings illustrated in Antique Famous Chinese Paintings Collected by P’ang Lai Ch’en catalogue to New York and showed them to Charles Lang Freer. See Ingrid Larsen, “‘Don’t Send Ming or Later Pictures’: Charles Lang Freer and the First Major Collection of Chinese Painting in an American Museum,” Ars Orientalis vol. 40 (2011), p. 23. Freer made a selection of paintings for his collection and advised Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer as well as Louisine Havemeyer with their acquisitions. Freer’s copy of the 1916 Pang catalogue includes penciled annotations indicating that this painting was purchased by Agnes E. Meyer.
 See Elizabeth Meyer Lorentz’s Deed of Gift, dated February 5, 1998, copy in object file.