National Collection of Fine Arts. Office of the Director Search this
The Gallery of Art Commission was created by the Board of Regents of the Smithsonian Institution on December 8, 1925. In 1937, the name was changed to the National
Collection of Fine Arts Commission following the creation of a separate National Gallery of Art. On January 13, 1938, the Commission was renamed the Smithsonian Art Commission
The function of the Commission was to consider all art matters concerning fine arts under SI's jurisdiction. The SAC submits its findings to the Board of Regents.
The SAC members are appointed by the Board of Regents. The members consist of five artists, five fine arts experts, and five businessmen or fine arts professionals. The
Secretary of SI is an ex officio member. The term of service is four years, and each member may be reappointed.
This series consists of minutes of the SAC meetings, 1948-1964; NCFA annual reports, 1948-1964; correspondence, mostly with caterers and with Lloyd Goodrich; and lists
of SAC members, 1948-1964.
Smithsonian Institution Archives, Record Unit 312, National Collection of Fine Arts. Office of the Director, Records