Skip to main content Smithsonian Institution

Catalog Data

Collection Creator:
Anderson, William "Cat", 1916-1981 ((musician))  Search this
Archival materials
Scope and Contents:
This series contains four flat boxes and one flat oversized box (ca. 2 cu. ft.). Most are Anderson compositions. Among them is an arrangement of Don=t Call Me for Johnny Hodges(?) small group. There are also Anderson arrangements of titles performed by the Ellington organization including Blood Count and pieces from Night Creature, the Far East Suite and the Shakespearean Suite. In a few instances, related materials will be found in the Duke Ellington or Ruth Ellington collections. Titles are arranged in alphabetical order.
Collection Restrictions:
Collection is open for research. Master tapes not available to researchers.
Collection Rights:
Collection items available for reproduction, but the Archives Center makes no guarantees concerning copyright restrictions. Other intellectual property rights may apply. Archives Center cost-recovery and use fees may apply when requesting reproductions. Copyright status of items varies. Signed copies of releases on file.
Collection Citation:
William "Cat" Anderson Collection, Archives Center, National Museum of American History.
NMAH.AC.0630, Series 1
See more items in:
William "Cat" Anderson Collection
Archival Repository:
Archives Center, National Museum of American History