Skip to main content Smithsonian Institution

Catalog Data

Former owner:
Hutton, Edward F. Mr. Mrs.  Search this
Prime, William A. Mr. Mrs.  Search this
Post, Marjorie Merriweather  Search this
Landscape architect:
Coffin, Marian Cruger, 1876-1957  Search this
Architect:
Hart, Charles M.  Search this
Hart & Shape  Search this
Owner:
Long Island University. C. W. Post College  Search this
Suppliers:
Lewis & Valentine Nurseries, Inc.  Search this
Provenance:
North Country Garden Club of Long Island  Search this
Collection Creator:
Garden Club of America  Search this
Type:
Archival materials
Place:
New York (State) -- Brookville
Hillwood (Brookville, New York)
United States of America -- New York -- Nassau County -- Oyster Bay -- Brookville
Scope and Contents:
The folder includes a worksheet, landscape plans, copies of photographs, and copies of articles and programs.
General:
This Hillwood was owned by Mr. and Mrs. Edward F. Hutton. After the Hutton's divorce in 1935, Hillwood became the property of Marjorie (formerly Mrs. Hutton) and her second husband Joseph E. Davies. Mrs. E. F. Hutton, after several divorces, was later known as Mrs. Marjorie Merriweather Post. Long Island University bought the property in 1947 to use it as one of their off-campus locations. Classes began in the mansion in 1951. The University then named the property after Marjorie Merriweather Post's father, Charles William Post, to become C. W. Post College. In 1955, Mrs. Post built a separate estate in Washington, DC, and named it "Hillwood." This is now Hillwood Museum and Gardens.
(The Fine Arts Center, located on the college property, was originally owned by Mr. E.F. Hutton, who built it after his divorce from Marjorie. He hired Marian Coffin to design this property as well.)
Persons and organizations associated with this garden include: Mr. and Mrs. William A. Prime (former owners, 1911); Mr. and Mrs. Edward F. Hutton (former owners, 1921-ca.1940); Mr. and Mrs. Joseph E. Davies (former owners); (Marian Coffin (landscape architect, 1921-1929); Charles M. Hart (architect, 1921); Hart & Shape (architects); and Long Island University, C.W. Post College (owners, 1947-present).
Earliest slides are taken from published sources.
Related Materials:
Hillwood related holdings consist of 3 folders (20 35 mm. slides)
Another repository of images (23) of this garden is the Richard E. Ballard Collection at Winterthur Museum, Delaware.
Collection Restrictions:
Access to original images by appointment only. Researcher must submit request for appointment in writing. Certain items may be restricted and not available to researchers. Please direct reference inquiries to the Archives of American Gardens: aag@si.edu.
Collection Rights:
Archives of American Gardens encourages the use of its archival materials for non-commercial, educational and personal use under the fair use provision of U.S. copyright law. Use or copyright restrictions may exist. It is incumbent upon the researcher to ascertain copyright status and assume responsibility for usage. All requests for duplication and use must be submitted in writing and approved by Archives of American Gardens.
Topic:
Gardens -- New York -- Brookville  Search this
Collection Citation:
Smithsonian Institution, Archives of American Gardens, The Garden Club of America collection.
Identifier:
AAG.GCA, File NY460
See more items in:
The Garden Club of America collection
The Garden Club of America collection / Series 1: United States Garden Images / New York
Archival Repository:
Archives of American Gardens
EDAN-URL:
ead_component:sova-aag-gca-ref27001