Smithsonian Institution

Search Results

Collections Search Center
2 documents - page 1 of 1

Miner's Carbide Lamp

view Miner's Carbide Lamp digital asset number 1
overall: 7 1/4 in x 6 in x 3 in; 18.415 cm x 15.24 cm x 7.62 cm
Object Name:
lamp, carbide, mining
mining lamp
Description (Brief):
This lamp is a Dew-R-Lite model, manufactured in the 1930's by the Dewar Manufacturing Co. of Brooklyn, New York. Dewar produced carbide mining lamps from around 1914 until it was bought by the Wolf Safety Lamp Co. in the late 1930’s. Dewar was well known for its “I-T-P” (It’s Trouble Proof), Sun Ray, and Dew-R-Lite lamp brands. This lamp is notable for its perforated reflector.
Currently not on view
Industry & Manufacturing
Natural Resources
Mining Lamps
Thorpe, Dave. Carbide Light: The Last Flame in American Mines
ID Number:
Catalog number:
Accession number:
See more items in:
Work and Industry: Mining
Mining Lamps
Data Source:
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Minutes, 1846-

view Minutes, 1846- digital asset number 1
Smithsonian Institution Board of Regents
Fillmore, Millard 1800-1874
Taylor, Zachary 1784-1850
Taney, Roger Brooke 1777-1864
Smithsonian Institution Administration
Physical description:
8.20 cu. ft. (9 document boxes) (7 12x17 boxes) (1 16x20 box)
Mixed archival materials
Collection descriptions
The Smithsonian Institution was created by authority of an Act of Congress approved August 10, 1846. The Act entrusted direction of the Smithsonian to a body called the Establishment, composed of the President; the Vice-President; the Chief Justice of the United States; the Cabinet; the Mayor of Washington; and the Commissioner of the Patent Office. In fact, however, the Establishment last met in 1877; and control of the Smithsonian has always been exercised by its Board of Regents. The membership of the Regents consists of the Vice-President and the Chief Justice of the United States; three members each of the Senate and House of Representatives; two citizens of the District of Columbia; and nine citizens of the several states, no two from the same state. (Prior to 1970 the category of citizen-Regents not residents of Washington consisted of four members). By custom the Chief Justice is Chancellor. The office was at first held by the Vice-President. However, when Millard Fillmore succeeded to the presidency on the death of Zachary Taylor in 1851, Chief Justice Roger Brooke Taney was chosen in his stead; and the office has always been filled by the Chief Justice since that time.
These records are the official, edited minutes of the Board, compiled at the direction of the Secretary of the Smithsonian, who is also secretary to the Board. Manuscript minutes exist for the period from 1846 to 1856, and after 1891. Only printed versions exist for the years from 1857 to 1891.
Museum trustees
Local number:
SIA RU000001
See more items in:
Minutes 1846-2007 [Smithsonian Institution Board of Regents]
Data Source:
Smithsonian Institution Archives

Modify Your Search


Narrow By