Original is in hand of same scribe as Manuscript Letter Signed, Wowodsky to Gibbs, 21/5 March, 1858, transmitting vocabularies (NAA file Number 371). Original recorded in Comparative Vocabulary of Indian Languages; copy on plain ruled paper. "Tchugatz" is marked on the original in J.B.H. Hewitt's hand, apparently after Gibbs' note on the copy. Copy of the above by George Gibbs, designated, "Tchugatz." No date. Manuscript Document. 2 pages.
Biographical / Historical:
Wowodsky was Governor of the Russian Colonies in America, 185 -1858.
Title page reads: Transcripts of Petroglyphs found in Queens County, Nova Scotia, collected during June and July, 1888 by and under the direction of George Creed, South Rawdon, N.S.
Note: Those copies marked "P" are positives, all others negatives. Those copies marked "X" are from Port Medway River. Those copies marked "G" are from Georges Lake. Those copies marked "I" are from a small island in Lake Kejimkoojik, the remainder being from the Fair Rocks, and other reefs, ledges, etc. on the shores of Kejimkoojik.
NAA MS 1592
Canada -- Nova Scotia -- Queens County -- Archeology -- Pictographs Search this
Photographs, drawings, and maps relating to Jesse Walter Fewkes' excavations in Mesa Verde National Park in Colorado. Photographs depict the ruins and paths through the park before and after excavation and repair. There are also original photographs by George L. Beam made for the Denver and Rio Grande Railroad. Some of the drawings are original illustrations for Fewkes' publications.
Jesse Walter Fewkes (1850‐1930) was a naturalist, anthropologist, and archeologist who served as chief of the Bureau of American Ethnology from 1918 to 1928. Fewkes received a Ph.D. in marine zoology from Harvard in 1877, and was curator of lower invertebrates at the Museum of Comparative Zoology until 1887. Some of his research focuses on the culture and history of the Pueblo Indians, an interest he developed while on a collecting trip in the western United States. In 1891, Fewkes became director of the Hemenway Southwestern Archeological Expedition and editor of the Journal of American Archeology and Ethnology. Embarking on various archeological explorations for the Bureau of American Ethnology in 1895, he conducted excavations in the Southwest, the West Indies, and Florida. During the summers of 1908‐1909, 1915‐1916, and 1918-1922, Fewkes worked almost exclusively on excavations and repairs of ruins in Mesa Verde National Park.
Local Call Number(s):
NAA Photo Lot 30
Location of Other Archival Materials:
Additional Fewkes photographs held in National Anthropological Archives Photo Lot 4321, Photo Lot 1, and Photo Lot 86 (his negatives).
The National Anthropological Archives also holds Fewkesʹs field notes and papers (MS 4408).
Correspondence from Fewkes held in the National Anthropological Archives in the George L. Beam papers (MS 4517), the Henry Bascom Collins, Jr. papers, the Anthropological Society of Washington records (MS 4821), the Herbert William Krieger papers, the J.C. Pilling papers, the Walter Hough Papers (in the records of the Department of Anthropology), and the records of the Bureau of American Ethnology.
See others in:
Jesse Walter Fewkes photographs of excavations in Mesa Verde National Park, circa 1919-1921
The maps shows the scenis Ise area which is comprised of the sea coast of Shima peninsula and Ago Bay, now called Ise Shima Kokuritsu Kōen (National Park). Prominently identified are the celebrated mountains and Shinto shrines, including Naiku, the most venerated of all Ise Shirnes. It is said to have been build four years before Christ and contains the sacred mirror, one of the imperial emblems.
NAA MS 7419
NAA INV 10000080
Former Title or Title Variations:
Ise Asama-yama ryokan jūhattei yori jūhasshū ichibō no zu
Data furnished by Chang-su Houchins, of the Department of Anthropology. She consulted E. Papinot, Nistorical and Geographical DI tionary of Japan, 1948, and Niho Kokugo Daijiten (Encyclopaedia of the Japanese Language), 1978.
Includes a sketch map showing names and locations of Karok villages and the number of houses in each. Manuscript copy of the blurred pencil notes from the inside front and back covers and page  made by A.R. Pilling, 8/1970 and filed with manuscript.
The document is a street map that identifies places of interest. Insets show Negishi race ground, distances from Yokohama to various other places in Japan, distances from Yokohama to neighbouring cities, distances from Yoshida-bashi [bridge] to nearby villages, and drawings of foreign flags. An added label, in English, provides information about Yokohama. The map is identified as being "official, revised, and newly printed."
NAA MS 7152
NAA INV 10000008
Translation of Title:
A guide to Yokohama
Data and translations furnished by Chang-su Houchins, of the Department of Anthropology, NMNH.
Contents: Frontispiece, sketch map; pages 1-12, San Felipe vocabulary from Jose Zepherino of Carlisle, Pennsylvania, and Laguna vocabulary, source not given, interpaged or on same pages; pages 13-22, Laguna vocabulary from John Menaul; 24-32, copy of Whipple's Kiwomi or Santo Domingo vocabulary from Pacific Railroad Survey Report III, pages 86-90; pages 45-62, copy of Col. James Stevenson's Santa Ana and Silla vocabulary; pages 63-82, vocabulary extracted from Die Koshare (later published as The Delight Makers) by A. F. Bandelier.
Pictographic map of the Caribbean coastline of Panama with Kuna place-names and various drawings of persons and events. 7 drawings on 12" by 9" manila paper sewn onto map. The name "EQUAEGEPIPI" is lettered in two places on the map. The map is rolled-up and in brittle condition.
Biographical / Historical:
Chief Igwa Nigdibippi (possibly also known as Chief Golman), from Agligandi Island, visited Washington, D.C. in 1924 with members of the Marsh-Darien expedition. It is uncertain whether he painted the map during this visit.
BAE Neg 4304
OPPS Neg 44,252
NAA MS 4490
Information about the conservation treatment of the map can be found at http://www.nmnh.si.edu/naa/features/artwork_conservation.htm.
Other Archival Materials:
See NAA INV 04280902 for photo of Chief Igwa Nigdibippi working on map.
Due to the fragile condition of the map, access is restricted to digital images unless permission has been obtained to look at the original.
Vol. 1: 46 drawings of war scenes on leaves of ruled and numbered paper from a ledger book, now disbound, covers retained. Inside of cover inscribed D.N. McDonald, US Army. Vol. 2: 54 drawings on leaves of ruled and numbered paper from a ledger book, now disbound, covers not retained. Scenes are primarily of warfare, but also include horse raids, courting, and two maps. Several pages inscribed "Washee," a name recorded among both Cheyennes and Arapahoes in the 1880s.
Biographical / Historical:
David N. McDonald graduated from the US Military Academy at West Point in 1877. He served at Fort Sill, IT in 1878 and then at Fort Reno 1878-81, subsequently being posted in New Mexico, Arizona, and California.
NAA MS 4452-a
Several pages in vol. 2 inscribed with word Washee. Misreading of this as Nashee led to erroneous speculation that the drawings were associated with the Apache leader Naiche.
Personal correspondence and drawings on Central American and Peruvian antiquities. Material comprises four sheets drawings, 2 old maps, (North and South America), six letters, one printed pamphlet, and one impression of the Grave Creek tablet. [Most refer to Peruvian antiquities.]
Includes original drawings for illustration in Victor Mindeleff, "A Study of Pueblo Architecture: Tusayan and Cibola," BAE-AR 8, 1891.
2621 Mindeleff. Field plans and diagrams of inhabited pueblos and pueblo ruins. Box 1: Folder 1. Prehistoric ruins, not included in BAE-AR 8. Mummy Cave, Canon del Muerto, Verde River, Chaco Canyon, etc. 2. Prehistoric ruins. All included in BAE-AR-8. All are in Tusayan and Cibola provinces. 3-6 Historic Zuni ruins: Kechipawan, Matsaki, Hawikuh, Taaiyalana (scale wrong as published). No plans present for Kiakima, Plate LII in BAE-AR 8.
Folders Modern Zuni pueblos: Nutria, Pescado, Ojo Caliente, Zuni. 7-10. Box 2: Folders Modern Hopi pueblos: Tewa, Oraibi, Moenkopi, Walpi, Sichomovi, 11-17. Mashongnavi, Shumopavi. No original plans present for Walpi, Sichomovi, Shipaulovi. Remainder of box contains architectural drawings prepared for publication in BAE-AR 8 (i.e. not originals) and photographs marked for printer. Unarranged, incomplete set.
NAA MS 2621
Manuscript 2621, National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution
These are the original drawings that accompanied Edwin Thompson Denig's 451 page manuscript, entitled "Report to Hon. Isaac I. Stevens, Governor of Washington Territory, on the Indian Tribes of the Upper Missouri, by Edwin Thompson Denig." The drawings depict utensils, tools, game pieces, plants, warfare, hunting, a tipi, a scalp dance, and a map. Five of the drawings are attributed to anonymous Assiniboine artists. The drawings that are not attributed to the Assiniboine may have been drawn by Edwin T. Denig. All of the drawings were likely created between 1853 and 1854, while Denig was working on the report. Records indicate that his original manuscript included 15 pages ink drawings. The manuscript was published in 1930, in the Forty-sixth Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology. Prior to being photographed for the publication, the 15 pages of drawings were trimmed into 39 smaller drawings, which were subsequently arranged and pasted onto 19 mounts. Included with the drawings is typed page identifying the drawings as "Original sketches for Plates 64-80 and Figs. 30-35 of Denig's "Indian Tribes of the Upper Missouri," edited by J.N.B. Hewitt, BAE-AR 46, Washington, D.C., 1930. " The page also contains a list of negative numbers.
Biographical / Historical:
Edwin T. Denig was born on March 10, 1812 in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. He entered the fur trade in 1833 as an employee of the American Fur Company. He would be employeed in the fur trade for the next 23 years. During this period he worked at Fort Pierre and Fort Union, eventually rising to the position of bourgeois at the latter post. In 1854 he authored a 451 page manuscript, entitled "Report to Hon. Isaac I. Stevens, Governor of Washington Territory, on the Indian Tribes of the Upper Missouri, by Edwin Thompson Denig." Denig left Fort Union in 1856. He died on September 4, 1858 near the city of Winnipeg, Canada. For further biographic information, see Edwin Thompson Denig, Five Indian Tribes of the Upper Missouri: Sioux, Arickaras, Assiniboines, Crees, and Crows (edited and with an introduction by John C. Ewers), University of Oklahoma Press, 1961.
Fort Union trading post was constructed by the American Fur Company in 1828 and was located near the confluence of the Yellowstone and Missouri Rivers. It was established to open trade with the Assiniboine, yet it served a variety of tribes, including the Crow, Arikara, Mandan, Hidatsa, Plains Cree, Chippewa, Blackfeet, and Sioux. These tribes exchanged beaver pelts and buffalo robes for trade goods at Fort Union. In 1866, the trading post was sold to the Northwestern Fur Company. A year later, the United States Army purchased the facility, which it subsequently dismantled. For further information, see: National Park Service, Fort Union Trading Post: Grandest Fort on the Missouri http://www.nps.gov/fous/history.htm Edwin Thompson Denig, Five Indian Tribes of the Upper Missouri: Sioux, Arickaras, Assiniboines, Crees, and Crows (edited and with an introduction by John C. Ewers), University of Oklahoma Press, 1961.