United States of America, Maryland, Baltimore, Baltimore
Rusty Rocks (Baltimore, Maryland)
The 2-acre property is situated in an abandoned rock quarry in Baltimore, Maryland. The home and terraces were created using rocks from the quarry; the unusual properties of the stone gave Rusty Rocks its name. The house was built in 1907 within Roland Park, an early planned suburb laid out by landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted and Edward H. Bouton, president of the Roland Park Company. Bouton and his wife, Loella, were the original owners of Rusty Rocks. Luella Bouton transformed the landscape there into a wildflower sanctuary. A series of terraces, shaded by giant oaks, sycamores, and dogwood, evoked the feel of extensive woodlands.
The garden included wisteria, wildflowers, mertensia, and violets. The space acted as a setting for community gatherings and wildflower preservation advocacy work by Luella Bouton.
Persons associated with the garden include Edward H. & Luella Bouton (former owners, 1907-1930s?), A. J. Tormey (former owner, 1940s?), Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Cloud (former owners, 1950s?), Joseph D. Minutilli (former owner, 1960s-1990s?), Frederick Law Olmsted, Jr. (landscape architect, 1907).
The folder includes worksheets, photocopies of articles, and other information.
Access to original images by appointment only. Researcher must submit request for appointment in writing. Certain items may be restricted and not available to researchers. Please direct reference inquiries to the Archives of American Gardens: email@example.com