United States of America, New Jersey, Union, Summit
Reeves-Reed Arboretum (Summit, New Jersey)
circa 1914-1949 and undated
During the Revolutionary era, the area was part of a farm. An estate, once known as The Clearing, was created on the site in 1889 by John Hornor Wisner. He built the present Colonial revival residence, which now serves as the administrative and educational center for the Arboretum. Mr. Wisner plotted the original gardens and Mrs. Wisner planted the first daffodils. Each April the daffodil display, enlarged from earlier times, is a major Arboretum attraction. In 1916, the new owners, Mr. and Mrs. Richard Reeves, hired a New York landscape architect to develop an overall design for the property. Mrs. Reeves was also a member of the Summit Garden Club. The Reeves family increased the daffodil plantings and, around 1925, started the rose garden. The Charles L. Reed family became the last private owners in the 1960s, adding the herb garden and creating the woodland trails.
The property became a public institution, the Reeves-Reed Arboretum, in 1974, when Summit citizens acted to protect the 12.5 acres of woodlands, glacial contours and dells, rolling lawns, and inspired gardens from encroaching development.
Persons associated with the garden include John and Isabelle Wisner (former owners, 1888-1918); Richard E. Reeves and Susie Graham Reeves (former owners, 1918-1968); Charles L. Reeves, Jr. and Ann Reeves Reed (former owners, 1968-1974); Calvert Vaux (landscape architect); Ellen Shipman (landscape architect); Carl F. Pilat (landscape architect, 1925); Babb, Cook & Willard (New York City, architect); Wodell & Cottrell (garden designers).
The folder includes worksheets, maps and other information.