Development of Frederick Douglass Visitor Center Meeting
Anacostia Neighborhood Museum
Kinard, John 1936-1989
Gregory, Mary E. C
Qualls, Charles E
Hutchinson, Louise Daniel
Douglass, Frederick 1817?-1895
Frederick Douglass Memorial Home
Frederick Douglass Memorial and Historical Association
United States National Park Service
Anacostia Community Museum
Anacostia Neighborhood Museum
1 open reel 1/2 inch video recording
Anacostia (Washington, D.C.)
Title transcribed from physical asset.
Frederick Douglass Memorial Home was built between 1855 and 1859 for John Welsh Van Hook, an architect from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in Uniontown (also known as Anacostia). In 1877, Frederick Douglass purchased the home and 9 3/4 acres of land, which he named Cedar Hill. Over several years, Douglass purchased additional land and converted the home into a 21 room mansion. In 1900, Douglass' second wife, Helen Pitts Douglass, urged U.S. Congress to charter the Frederick Douglass Memorial and Historical Association, which received the property in 1903 upon Helen's death. On September 5, 1962, the Frederick Douglass estate became a part of the National Park Service. Groundbreaking ceremonies for a visitor center were held in September 1980. The visitor center opened to the public in February 1982. Douglass' home and estate became a National Historic Site in 1988 and underwent several restorations between 1922 and 2007.
Frederick Douglass (1818-1895) was born into slavery on Maryland's Eastern Shore but fled north in 1838 to settle in Massachussetts. He soon became an abolitionist in the antislavery movement, and by the mid-1840s his commanding eloquence in offering firsthand testimony to the oppressions of slavery had transformed him into one of the movement's most persuasive spokesmen. Douglass' reforming zeal remained strong all his life. After the Civil War put an end to slavery, he continued to be a leading defender of the rights of African Americans during Reconstruction.
At a meeting regarding the development of the Frederick Douglass Visitor Center, Project Architect Bob Nash provides an update on U.S. Park Service requirements as related to goals of the project team. Nash, John Kinard, Louise Hutchinson, Mary Gregory, Charles E. Quall, and a few others discuss ideas and strategies to develop and deliver a strong community endorsement to the Department of Interior to obtain approval for both phases of the Visitor Center construction.
Small meeting. Part of ACM Museum Events, PR, and Ceremonies Recordings Record Group. Video and sound distortions throughout recording including sound and video sync issues. Undated.
Development of Frederick Douglass Visitor Center Meeting, Record Group AV09-023, Anacostia Community Museum Archives, Smithsonian Institution
Use of the materials requires an appointment. Some items are not accessible due to obsolete format and playback machinery restrictions. Please contact the archivist at ACMarchives@si.edu