United States of America, Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
The gardens of the 18 acre property dating from the country place era include rare trees, flowering shrubs, a formal rose garden, a vineyard and oaks trees along the Delaware River that are more than 300 years old. There are numerous outbuildings including a gate house, carriage house and boat house. During the 1920s and 1930s the owners, Caroline Foerderer and her daughter Florence Foerderer Tonner redesigned the grounds with landscape architects James Bush-Brown and Thomas W. Sears, installing allées, terraces, fountains and garden sculpture.
The Delaware River front property was part of one thousand acres purchased in 1850 by Charles Macalester, Jr. (1798-1873) who sold off most of the land but kept this portion for a summer place, with a three story Italianate mansion he had built. His name for the property was Glengarry. After the death of his daughter Lily Macalester Laughton in 1891 the property was purchased by Robert and Caroline Foerderer, who had the house enhanced and enlarged in the classical revival style by architect William McAuley. Robert Foerderer died in 1903 before the renovations were finished but renamed the estate Glen Foerd, combining the original name with him family's name. Later the property was owned by daughter Florence Foerderer Tonner and her husband William, who established an award-winning cattle farm on the other side of Poquessing Creek which runs alongside the estate. Now known as Glen Foerd on the Delaware the grounds are open to public, the house can be toured, and the property is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Persons associated with the garden include Charles Macalester Jr. (former owner, circa 1850-1873); Lily Macalester Laughton (former owner, circa 1873-1891); Robert and Caroline Foerderer (former owners, 1895-circa 1915); William and Florence Foerderer Tonner (former owners, circa 1915-1971); William McAuley (architect of renovations, circa 1895-1903); James Bush-Brown and Thomas Sears (landscape architects, circa 1920s-1930s).