Woodlands Stables, Llewellyn Park, undated, 1963, 2012-2013
Burke, John 1880s-1892
Babcock, John 1955-1968
Robbins, Charles 1967-1999
Poinier, Lois W.
Garden Club of the Oranges
Morrison, Mark K. 2000
2 folders+ 12 35mm slides (photographs); 18 digital images, 4 digital prints
Mixed archival materials
United States of America, New Jersey, Essex, West Orange
Woodlands Stables, Llewellyn Park (West Orange, New Jersey)
undated, 1963, 2012-2013
The residence originally was a horse stable built circa 1880 and the gardens now include an enclosed courtyard, designed in the 1960s during the conversion of the residence, and kitchen, vegetable and shade gardens, on about two acres, with another two acre lot kept as a mowed meadow for horseback riding and jumping. The original courtyard garden contained specimen trees including Sir Harry Lauder walking stick and two white birches, no longer existing. Ornamental features include brick and ironwork gates with a sandstone carving of a horse's head, the original horses' water trough converted into a fountain, and brick walls. Trees planted by another previous owner that are still growing include star magnolias along a split rail fence and a giant sequoia and dawn redwood that have grown to impressive heights. The current owners are growing vegetables in raised beds, containers, and hay bales. Their kitchen garden has perennials, shrubs, a peach tree, berries and herbs; both areas are fenced to keep out deer. The shade garden between the house and meadow has been augmented with more ferns, mountain laurel, viburnum and a wisteria arch, and bluestone and brick walkways. In the courtyard garden the drainage has been redone and new trees and shrubs planted, including hawthorn, kousa dogwood, redbud, elms, maples, Norway spruce, and fruit trees.
The large estate mansion was built in the late nineteenth century by a member of the Guinness family, John Burke, who emigrated from Ireland to market Guinness stout in the United State. The mansion was demolished, and the property was divided among family members of the next owners, with the stables eventually given to a granddaughter as a wedding present. In addition to the house there are two studios for photography and ceramics, a garage and woodworking shop enclosing the courtyard. Llewellyn Park was one of the first planned suburbs in the United States, noted for naturalized plantings and specimen collections of trees.
Persons associated with the garden include John Burke (former owner, circa 1880s-1892); Mr. and Mrs. William Scheerer (former owners); John Babcock and Mary Scheerer Babcock (former owners, circa 1955-1968); Charles and Margaret S. Robbins (former owners, 1967-1999); possibly Lois Poinier (garden designer, 1950s-1960s?); Mark K. Morrison and Melissa IX (landscape architect, 2000); Claudia Thornton (landscape architect, 2008).
The folder includes worksheets and historical information.