Located on approximately a half acre, the Emerson Garden was established in 1970 by landscape architect Harriet Bakewell. The current owner contacted Bakewell's protégé Cathy Williams to help restore the grounds to Bakewell's original plan. Though development in the neighborhood has proven to be a hindrance, much of the grounds have been restored to the original plan. The garden includes viburnum and forsythia and the diseased trees have been replaced with different species.
Harriet Bakewell was the first female to graduate from Washington University with a degree in landscape architecture. Her father, George T. Moore, served as the second director of the Missouri Botanical Garden. In the 1970s, Bakewell moved to a 1930 cottage in Ladue, Missouri, now known as "Twin Cottages." Bakewell's work includes Operation Brightside, the Japanese Garden at the Missouri Botanical Garden, and the Steinberg Rink in Forest Park. The Garden Club of America awarded her the Mrs. Oakleigh Thorn Medal in 1983.
Garden features include benches, birdbaths, cutting gardens, espaliers, flower beds, gates, gazing globes, hedges, herb gardens, retaining walls, swimming pools, and waterfalls.
Persons associated with the garden include Harriet Bakewell (former owner, landscape architect, 1970s-1980s); Thomas and Mary Fox (former owners, 1995); Mark and Cassandra Weaver (former owners, 1995-1998); J.V. Seibel & Sons (original brickwork, 1970s-1999); Tim Gamma (arborist, 1998- ); Cathy Williams (landscape architect, 1998); Susan Emerson (garden restoration, 1998- ).
The folder includes worksheets, a site plan with plant names, additional images, and other information.
Garden has been featured in "Better Homes and Gardens" publication (date unknown)
Garden has been featured in "St. Louis Homes" (2006)