Located on approximately 24 acres, the property was named Tunnel Farm as a nod to a tunnel built for an extension of the North Pennsylvania Rail Road which opened in Gwynedd in 1856. Local red Triassic sandstone was used to build a two bay, two story gable roof house fronting the road. The house retained the footprint with minor alterations until ca.1930 when Mr. and Mrs. Edward Harvey added a keeping room and bedroom. Tunnel Farm was maintained as working farm until the 1950s and is currently a gentleman's farm with barn, other outbuildings and gardens. Many efforts have been made to preserve open space near Tunnel Farm including deeding over half of the property to the Natural Lands Trust as an easement. Tunnel Farm is a rare example of a country farm with extensive open land, a pond, stream, woodlands and gardens in an ever-growing suburban environment. The original farmhouse was built in approximately 1783.
Other features of the garden include beehives, birdbaths, cisterns, ha has, herb garden, native plant gardens, vegetable garden, walled gardens, woodland gardens and an orchard.
Persons and groups associated with the garden include: Mr. and Mrs. Edward F. Harvey (former owners, 1926-1945), Mr. and Mrs. Charles J. Clark, Jr. (former owners, 1945-1954), Mr. and Mrs. George B. Burpee (former owners, 1954-1957), Mr. and Mrs. Joseph M. Jackson (former owners, 1957-1961), Alice Doering (landscape designer, 1984-1994) and John D. Milner (architect, 1991).
The folder includes worksheets articles and lists of notable plants and shrubs.
Access to original images by appointment only. Researcher must submit request for appointment in writing. Certain items may be restricted and not available to researchers. Please direct reference inquiries to the Archives of American Gardens: email@example.com