United States of America, Indiana, Montgomery County, Crawfordsville
In 1917, Frank C. Evans purchase 60 acres and developed a summer home and a nature park. The property was named Spring Ledge because of the existence of 17 natural springs. There are two houses on the property, one is the original cottage and the other a summer home which is now a year-around home.
Persons associated with the garden include: Frank C. Evans (former owner and landscape designer, 1917-1947), Emerson Dellekamp (former owner, 1958-1976), A.K. Schiedenhelm and Clyde E. Whitehill (former owners, 1947-1988), Willam C. Farrell, Jr. and Richard R. Eggers (former owners, 1987).
Archives of American Gardens encourages the use of its archival materials for non-commercial, educational and personal use under the fair use provision of U.S. copyright law. Use or copyright restrictions may exist. It is incumbent upon the researcher to ascertain copyright status and assume responsibility for usage. All requests for duplication and use must be submitted in writing and approved by Archives of American Gardens.
The folder includes worksheets and other information.
Garden has been featured in a 1933 news article regarding the North End Garden Club of Indianapolis touring Spring Ledge (no citaiton)
Smithsonian Gardens, Smithsonian Institution, PO Box 37012, Capital Gallery, Suite 3300, MRC 506, Washington, DC 20013-7012