Window designer and restaurateur, John Nicholson, born in St. Louis, Mo. in 1916. The only son of Romanian immigrants, Johnny Bulica changed his name to John Nicholson in the 1920s to lose the Old World connection.
Mr. Nicholson received some practical design experience while working for the St. Louis department store, Stix, Baer & Fuller before coming to New York City in the early 1940s. Mr. Nicholson worked for two years with Lord & Taylor as a display and window designer before opening Cafe Nicholson--a restaurant that he managed for nearly 50 years and which closed in 1999.
This collection consists exclusively of 25 8 x 10 inch black-and-white photographs. These photographs document Nicholson's work for Lord & Taylor Company from 1946-1947. Nicholson created 100 window displays for the department store, but only 25 are in this collection. The collection does not include any supporting documentation for these photographs.