United States of America, Virginia, Fauquier County, Marshall
Orlean House (Marshall, Virginia)
The land was included in the 12-square mile grant given in colonial times to the Sixth Lord Thomas Fairfax, who deeded his Manor of Leeds, named for his father's estate in England, to his heir Denny Martin Fairfax. Orlean House is within the 588-acre tract granted by Fairfax to John Winn Smith in September 1760, whose descendants built the first frame house in 1795, to which a larger stone addition was appended in 1812. That house, the oldest structure in the area, now has gardens added by the current owners beginning in 2003 under the guidance of Richard Arentz, ASLA. Their favorite part of the 18-acre property is the shade garden that connects the formal arrival court at the end of the long entrance drive to the sectors used for outdoor entertaining, which include a swimming pool edged by a wildflower meadow. The shade garden includes an understory of sweet woodruff and periwinkle, tulips and narcissus, herbaceous perennials including hellebores, hosta, autumn fern, astilbe, sedge and bleeding heart, flowering shrubs including Exbury and Delaware Valley white azaleas, English boxwood, winter hazel and hydrangea, and fringe trees.
Remnants of earlier gardens are few but include many daffodil fields, old boxwood and mature trees. Orlean House was included in the Virginia Historic Garden Week tour in 2011, and the 21st century gardens continue to develop as they age. An historic barn and corn crib dating from the early days of farming are still standing on the property and are in good condition.
Persons associated with the garden include Lord Thomas Fairfax and Denny Martin Fairfax (owners before 1760); John Winn Smith and descendants (former owners, 1760-1829); William W., James and Elizabeth Payne (former owners, 1829-1834); Albert S. and Thomas M. Hirst (former owners, 1834-1873); Marshall H. and Ludwell Lake (former owners, 1873-circa 1882); William H. and Hattie L. Tripplett and Eppa Hunton Jr., (former owners, 1885 - 1898); Edward S. and Mary E. Halley (former owners, 1898-1913); H.N. and Eliza J. Brown (former owners, 1913-1924); Mr. and Mrs. Charles R. Kengla, Mason B. Payne and Mr. and Mrs. Murray A. Russell (former owners, 1924-1927); Josephine L Woolf (former owner, 1927-1940); Frank and Gertrude Henius (former owners, 1940-1943); Bolton and Florence Love (former owners, 1943-1976); John and Louise Merryman (former owners, 1976-1984); William and Catherine Osier (former owners, 1984-1998); Jennifer Austell-Wolfson and family (former owners, 1998-2003); Richard Arentz, ASLA (landscape architect, 2003-present).
The folder includes worksheets, site plans, and plant lists.