United States of America, South Carolina, Berkeley County, Moncks Corner
South Mulberry Plantation (Moncks Corner, South Carolina)
Located on nine hundred and one acres, South Mulberry Plantation was established in 1809 and created out of the larger Mulberry Plantation when Philip S. Broughton inherited the tract from his father. Broughton's son-in-law and botanist Dr.Sanford W. Barker, constructed the house on South Mulberry Plantation around 1835 and probably laid out the formal garden west of the house which remains to this day. The garden has borders of boxwood and pittosporum growing along the original pierced brick wall that edges the entire garden area. A path leading through the center of the garden is flanked by semicircular areas of flowering plants that mimic those found in the original garden. A reflecting pool is at one end accompanied by a bench and potted palms. A sweet potato vine climbs an arbor outside the garden wall.
The house retains much of its original interior fabric. Side additions were added before the Civil War and a rear wing was added at the turn of the century by a duck hunting club. Other buildings on the property include: a guest house, ice house, chicken coop, barns and an old slave cabin turned art studio. A pecan grove, pastures, woodlands, fields, pond and lagoon are also part of the plantation landscape. Fallen into disrepair by the 1980's, the property was once more reunited with its parent Mulberry and has been carefully restored and furnished by the current owners.
Persons associated with the property include: Philip S. Broughton (former owner, 1809-1835), Dr. Sanford W. Barker (former owner, 1835-1915), Clarence Chapman (former owner, 1915-1987).
The folder includes worksheets, site plans, and other information.