Frank Hubbard, an American harpsichord maker, started his harpsichord workshop in 1958, after an apprenticeship in London and a three-year period of study. DUring that time he studied harpsichords all over Europe,then collaborated for several years in business with fellow harpsichord maker and friend William Dowd. Both made harpsichords based upon historical principles, rejecting the modern methods used by other makers. Hubbard developed a harpsichord in 1963 based on a French instrument of 1769 which was sold as a do-it-yourself kit containing a manual and parts. Operations at the Hubbard shop in Framingham, Massachusetts continued after his death in 1976, until his successor, Hendrik Broekman, closed the business.
The collection documents the approximately fifty years of the Hubbard Harpsichord business. The records of the Hubbard shop include correspondence, financial and accounting documents, legal papers, newsletters, dealer files, project files, photographs, research files on European instruments, kit manuals, and design drawings.
Hubbard Harpsichord Records, 1930-2003 (bulk 1949-2003), Archives Center, National Museum of American History
Musical instrument makers
2011.3119 (NMAH Acc.)
Unrestricted research access on site by appointment. Unprotected photographs must be handled with gloves