Packwood House is a timber-framed Tudor manor house initially constructed between 1556 and 1560, which has undergone considerable restoration and modification, especially by former 20th century owner G. Baron Ash. Donated to the National Trust (Great Britain) in 1941, the property is noted especially for its Yew Garden, containing over 100 trees. Originally laid out in the mid-17th century by John Fetherston (the Fetherston/Fetherstone family occupied the house from its construction until 1876), the clipped yews are supposed to represent the Biblical "Sermon on the Mount." Twelve large specimens are known as "The Apostles," while four others are "The Evangelists." A hummock called "The Mount" is topped by a single yew known as "The Master." Smaller yews called "The Multitude" were planted in the 19th century to replace an orchard.
Persons associated with the property include the Fetherstone family (former owners, 1556-1876) and G. Baron Ash (former owner, 1925-1941).
The folder includes worksheets, photocopied book excerpts, and additional information about the house and garden.
Garden has been featured in Arabella Lennox-Boyd, Traditional English Gardens (New York: Rizzoli, 1987), pp. 116-121
Garden has been featured in Christopher Thacker, England's Historic Gardens (Great Britain: Headline, 1989), pp. 35-36