United States of America, Kentucky, Jefferson County, Louisville
Marchant S. and Barton H. Reutlinger Garden (Louisville, Kentucky)
Located on approximately one acre, this property is surrounded by a canopy of trees in a neighborhood designed by the Olmsted Brothers. The property features a vegetable garden with artistic sculpture and a small pond next to a shaded perennial garden. The house, designed by architect E. T. Hutchins in 1925-1926, is located on an unusual corner lot on a semi-circular road with no obvious point of entry.
When the current owners took over the property in 1984 the property was badly overgrown and there was evidence of a woodland wildflower garden. Since the only entrance to the house was through a driveway at the back of the house, the owners put in a front driveway and walkway up to the entrance of the house. The owners also added two brick terraces at the front and side of the house. A fishpond surrounded by a small perennial garden was added to the rear of the house near the terrace patio. Both the pond and the perennial garden have been enlarged over time.
The original vegetable garden stood near the garage, west of the house. Due to more sun on the east side of the house, a result of fallen trees, the garden was relocated and a woodworking shop now stands in its place. The vegetable garden, anchored by boxwood, is designed in an octagonal shape with a sundial at its center. Deer from the nearby woods are problematic and an eight foot deer fence was put up to keep them out. A screen of hemlocks, dogwood, winterberry, taxis and groundcover was added along the road for privacy. The gardens on the west side of the house were updated and variety of evergreens and hardwood trees were planted around the perimeter of the property as well as a stone retaining wall. Plantings include several different annuals, perennials, reseeding plants, bulbs, ground cover, herbs, shrubs, trees, aquatic plants and tropical plants.
Persons associated with the garden include: Frederic Law Olmsted (landscape architect, 1883-1895), E.T. Hutchins (architect, 1925-1926), Dr. and Mrs. Charles Maguire (former owners, 1949-1955), Dr. and Mrs. Kelly (former owner, 1955-1974) and Mr. and Mrs. Robert Lee (former owners, 1974-1984).
The folder includes worksheets, site plans, photocopy of an article about the project, and other information.