United States of America, New York, Nassau County, Mill Neck
Oak Knoll (Mill Neck, New York)
Designed in 1916 by architect William Adams Delano of Delano & Aldrich for Bertram G. Work, president of B. F. Goodrich, Oak Knoll was named after one of the largest oak trees on Long Island, which stands in the estate's gardens. With decorative ironwork by Samuel Yellin, the house and its grounds featured formal gardens, teahouses, terraces, pools, fountains, and pergolas. Still existing from the original design is a Roman style stone entrance court with sculptures and ironwork, from which there is a curving road to a second court with a fountain on one side and the front facade of the house on the other.
Persons and firms associated with the property include William Adams Delano (architect and landscape architect, 1916); Delano & Aldrich (architects, 1916); Samuel Yellin (ironworker, 1916); Bertram G. Work (former owner, 1916-1931?); Mr. and Mrs. Joel Ellis Fisher (former owners, 1931-1967); and Mr. and Mrs. Bronson Trevor (former owners, 1967-1995).
The folders include worksheets, site plans, copies of printed materials about the house and garden, and additional information.
Garden has been featured in Long Island Country Houses and Their Architects, 1860-1940, ed. by Robert B. Mackay, Anthony K. Baker, and Carol A. Traynor (New York: Society for the Preservation of Long Island Antiquities in association with W. W. Norton & Co., 1997)
Garden has been featured in Monica Randall, the Mansions of Long Island's Gold Coast (New York: Rizzoli, 1987)