United States of America, Maryland, Anne Arundel County, Annapolis
Ogle Hall (Annapolis, Maryland)
Located at 247 King George Street in Annapolis, Ogle Hall is one of the oldest Georgian mansions in Annapolis, Maryland. According to legend, the Marquis de Lafayette planted a yew tree in the Ogle garden. The home was built in 1739 for Dr. William Stephenson, an Annapolis surgeon who died before its completion in 1742 and had various successive owners, including the Ogle family and its descendents for whom it is named. The home is currently owned by the United States Naval Academy and referred to as Ogle Hall or Alumni House.
Persons associated with the garden include William Stephenson (previous owner, 1739), Benjamin Tasker (previous owner, 1760-1773), Anne Ogle (1760-1773), Benjamin and Henrietta Ogle (previous owners, 1773-1815), James Steele (previous owner, c.1815-1839), Sally Scott Murray Lloyd (previous owner, 1839-1847), Thomas George Pratt (previous owner, 1839-1867), U.S. Navy Judge John Mason and his wife (previous owner, 1867-1909), Marguerite Cusachs and Rosalie Van Ness (previous co-owners, 1909-1923), Marguerite Porter Cusachs (previous owner, 123-1944) and United States Naval Academy (owner, 1944-present).
The folder includes a worksheet and other information.