Preserved as a ruin after its destruction by fire on December 25, 1884, Barboursville was one of the largest and finest residences in Orange County. It is the only building in Orange County known to have been designed by Thomas Jefferson. The ruins are now the centerpiece for Barboursville Vineyard.
Persons associated with the garden and site include Thomas Jefferson (architect, 1814-1822); James Barbour, Governor of Virginia, U.S. Senator, Secretary of War and Ambassador to the Court of St. James (former owner, 1814).
Archives of American Gardens encourages the use of its archival materials for non-commercial, educational and personal use under the fair use provision of U.S. copyright law. Use or copyright restrictions may exist. It is incumbent upon the researcher to ascertain copyright status and assume responsibility for usage. All requests for duplication and use must be submitted in writing and approved by Archives of American Gardens.
The folder includes a print-out from the National Park Service's "Journey Through Hallowed Ground" online site.
Smithsonian Gardens, PO Box 37012, Capital Gallery, Suite 3300, MRC 506, Washington, DC 20013-7012