Wheeling and Lake Erie Railway Photographs, 1925-1942
Wheeling and Lake Erie Railway
Rehor, John A
History of Technology, Division of, NMAH, SI
Mechanical and Civil Engineering, Division of [former name], NMAH, SI
Work and Industry, Division of, NMAH, SI
2 cu. ft. : 6 boxes
Founded in 1871, the Wheeling and Lake Erie Railway was built to haul coal from southeastern Ohio mines to the Lake Erie ports of Huron and Toledo. After World War II, WLE had several owners, the Nickel Plate, then the Norfolk & Western,and later, the Norfolk & Western and Southern (NS) merged. The WLE was dissolved in 1989 but was revived in 1990 by new investors.
Over nine hundred official company photographs documenting the history of the railroad. Subjects include trains, locomotives and cars; employees and employee gatherings and events; structures such as stations, track, bridges, crossings, towers, coaling stations.
Wheeling and Lake Erie Railway Photographs, 1905-1942, Archives Center, National Museum of American History
Railroads--Buildings and structures
1981.0223 (NMAH Acc.)
Unrestricted research access on site by appointment. Unprotected photographs must be handled with gloves