3 folders+ 8 glass lantern slides; 2 b&w photoprints; and 6 35 mm. slides
United States of America, New York, Suffolk County, Cold Spring Harbor
Cold Spring Harbor
New York (State)
Nethermuir (Cold Spring Harbor, NY)
This property comprises lands formerly part of the Henry Wheeler de Forest estate. The buildings include Ballybung, built on site of the demolished mansion, and Airslie, a Federal-period farmhouse. Close to the water's edge, the de Forest family erected an Italianate-style house, which they called Nethermuir. The grounds slope down to the water, and were planted with rare trees such as cryptomeria, ginkgo, beeches, and fir. According to a 1921 visit to the garden by the Garden Club of America, the garden was an "old-fashioned walled garden" with best blooming times in May and June. Henry W. de Forest contracted with Olmsted Borthers to create the walled garden. Wooden arbors existed at the lower end, while a free-standing stone tea house and wrought-iron gates remain near the six planting quadrants. The specialty was dogwood and wall plantings. The formal walled garden was later subdivided into three separate parcels. Today, much of the box remains, but little, if any, other plant material survives. Several features include winding paths, open spaces with garden vistas, and the curved driveway at Airslie House.
Persons and organizations associated with this garden include:Henry W. deForest (former owner); The Jones family (former owners, 1785-1978); Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (owner, 1978-present); Frederick Law Olmsted, Jr. (landscape architect, 1906, 1909); Olmsted Brothers (landscape architects)
The folders include a worksheet, site map, copies of articles, plant list.
Garden has been featured in Elizabeth L. Watson, Houses for Science (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press, 1991); pp. 129-140