United States of America, Massachusetts, Essex County, Hamilton, South Hamilton
Ship Oak Farm (South Hamilton, Massachusetts)
The name of the farm comes from the timber that was cut here for the shipbuilders of nearby Essex. The farm was in the Dodge family for over 100 years; and the house dates from 1760. When it was purchased by the present owners in 1976, there was no lawn or garden, just pastures and old trees. The vegetable garden in a former paddock beside the barn was the first project. The old tack room is the present gardening workroom. The gazebo was added in 1989 to reduce the garden area. Gradually, shrubs, ground covers, native plants and an 80-foot perennial border have been added around the house. David Austin roses are planted in a separate garden behind the shed. The hay fields are maintained and cut by a local farmer.
Person(s) and organization(s) associated with the property: Harold Willcox (former owner, 1970-1976); and Thomas and Francis Meyer (former owners, 1955-1970).
The folder includes a work sheet, garden plan, plant list, and copies of garden tour brochures.