United States of America, Connecticut, Litchfield County, Cornwall, West Cornwall
Gannett Garden (West Cornwall, Connecticut)
The present owners established the garden in 1962 by planting the hemlock hedge north of the house and 250 blue spurce along the western boundary to screen the property from the railroad and the town road. The property was a small (55 acres) dairy farm until the Prestons sold it in 1926 to two silent film actors, who named it "The Farm." Some still call it "The Preston Place." The upper meadows on the high ground reverted to forest criss-crossed by stone walls. The three neglected barns have been rebuilt. The current gardens comprise cultivated beds along Preston Brook, three bridges, shade and perennial gardens, daylily walks, a rhododendron grove, a dahlia field, and five animal sculptures.
Persons and organizations associated with the property include: Samuel Wickwire family (former owners, 1776-1820); James F. Bradford family (former owners, 1820-1842); Alanson Preston family (former owners, 1842-1926); Donald Cameron and James Morrison (former owners, 1926-1961); and Denis Curtiss (sculptor, ongoing).