United States of America, New Jersey, Somerset County, Watchung
Hillcrest (Watchung, New Jersey)
Originally around 75 acres, the garden was established in 1913. The first owners lived there until the stock market crash. There were large vegetable and fruit garden to the righ of the tennis court with a huge asparagus bed, currants, raspberries, strawberries, and gooseberries. Pink cement walkways surrounded the house and pink steps led up to the glassed-in porch. Thomas Keating changed the name of the garden to "High Oaks." Much of the property was later developed. A house now exists on the former tennis court.
Persons associated with the property include: William H. Campbell (former owner, 1913-1929); and Thomas Keating (former owner, 1929-?).