United States of America, Maryland, Talbot County, Sherwood
Langdon farm (Sherwood, Maryland)
Landgon Farm, located on Harris Creek on the Eastern Shore of Maryland comprises approximately 175 acres, 80 of which are cultivated cropland. The landscape at Langdon Farm is noted for its extensive English boxwood garden planted in the 1920s. Six foot tall boxwood hedges form a series of garden rooms, each furnished for a distinct purpose--the main room as a cutting and vegetable garden; a secondary space as a traditional herbaceous garden. The entire landscape has undergone an extensive renovation that began in 1994. The water side of the Georgian Revival house is delineated by an elegant greensward and simple turf path that stretches from the base of the two-story portico. The rose garden, originally laid out in the 1920s is bordered by a mature American holly hedges. The elliptical parterre and associated terraces that form this garden are an extension of the guest wing on the house. Secluded within the gardens is a swimming pool surrounded by walkways and terraces constructed from brick taken from the steps of Constitution Hall in Philadelphia during an urban renewal project.
Persons associated with the garden and property include: Richard Bridges (original grant, 1659); Daniel Lambdin (former owner, 1739); James Seth (former owner, 1810); Charles W. Miller (former owner, 1967- ); Scott Wallace (former owner, 1983-1993); Gary Crain (garden designer, 1993-present); Charles Stick (landscape architect, 1994-present); Christopher Johnson (horticulturist and head gardener, 1994-present); and Christopher Kusske (landscape architect for perennial garden, 2000).
The folder includes a work sheet and site plans.
Garden featured in Southern Accents: The Magazine of Fine Southern Interiors and Gardens, May-June 2002, pp. 186-195
Garden featured in Theodore James, Jr. and Harry Haralambou, Country Gardenin: Design Ideas and a Practical Guide (Harry N. Abrams, Inc., 2000), p. 100