United States of America, New York, Nassau County, North Hempstead, Roslyn Harbor
Clifton (Roslyn Harbor, New York)
The original property was divided into thirds. One named Locust Knoll (now Mayknoll); one (the original Clifton) renamed Willowmere; and one renamed Clifton in honor of the original Clifton ( renamed Sycamore Lodge in 1917). The present owners changed the Sycamore Lodge property name back to Clifton. The gardens at Clifton, an 1862 Gothic Revival house, were designed in 1917 by Olmsted Brothers. In 1986, the present owners removed the dead and dying yews and rhododendrons. They replanted it as a re-creation of a mid-Victorian garden, using modern cultivars. The emphasis now is on climbing roses--some fifty varieties--shrub roses, hydrangeas and Victorian bedding out, plus a large collection of period garden furniture and ornament.
Persons and firms associated with the garden include: Joseph Hicks (former owner, 1861); Ann Eliza Cairns (former owner, 1861-1866); Blanche Cairns Willis (former owner, 1866-1917); John M. and Nevada Wills Demarest (former owners, 1917-1932); General J. J. Pershing (former resident, 1920-1921); Lucille Demarest (Mrs. Lester E.)Brion (former owner, 1932-1950); Glenn E. and Elizabeth Laird Riggs (former owners, 1950-1957); Frank C. and Catherine Bickford Fahnestock (former owners, 1957-1986); and Olmsted Brothers (landscape architects, 1917-1923).
The folder includes a worksheet, site maps, and historical background.
Access to original images by appointment only. Researcher must submit request for appointment in writing. Certain items may be restricted and not available to researchers. Please direct reference inquiries to the Archives of American Gardens: email@example.com