The house was originally built in 1908 as a summer home. Saluda soon became a summer colony for many people from South Carolina. The house is named "Stoney Lodge" for a previous owner, Mary Stoney Fisher, who laid out the gardens. The original gardens and stone walls were laid out in the early 20th century. Plantings included native wildflowers and shrubs with additions of Japanese maples, hydrangea paniculata, etc. A collection of native azaleas also dates to this time. The property now consists of approximately 1 1/2 acres with the balance of property in woods. The basic design of the original beds were retained by the present owners. The owners expanded some areas to extend the season of bloom beyond original summer-only plantings.
Persons and organizations associated with the site include: William B. Gordon (former owner, 1908); Martha W. Hill (former owner, 1919-1923); Mary Stoney Fisher (former owner and garden designer, 1923); Jane Fisher Dana (former owner); Julia Keenan Walker (former owner, 1951); William J. Keenan, Jr. (former owner, 1972-1984);
The folder includes a worksheet and site plans.
Garden has been featured in Donald Culross Peattie, Pearson's Falls Glen: Its Story, Its Flora, Its Birds, 4th edition (Tryon, NC: Tryon Garden Club, 1999), 48 pp