Poor Sisters of St. Francis Seraph of the Perpetual Adoration
1 folder+ 11 35 mm. slides
Mixed archival materials
United States of America, Colorado, El Paso County, Colorado Springs
Claremont (Colorado Springs, Colorado)
Claremont, known after 1949 as the Trianon, was built in 1907 and was modelled on the Grand Trianon in Versailles. Its architect, Thomas MacLaren, had planned formal gardens in the manner of André LeNotre, but these were never built. The gardens that were developed included a tapis vert, fountains, semi-formal beds, water features, a kitchen garden, and an orchard. Since 1967 the property, which was placed on the National Register of Historic Buildings in 1977, has housed The Colorado Springs School.
Persons and organizations associated with the property include: Mr. and Mrs.Charles A. Baldwin (former owners, 1905-1949); Thomas MacLaren (architect, 1905-1908); Mr. and Mrs. Blevins Davis (former owners, 1949-1952); the Poor Sisters of St. Francis Seraph of the Perpetual Adoration (former owners, 1952-1960); and the Trianon Foundation (former owner, 1960-1967).
The folder includes worksheets, an outline history of the property, and a narrative description of the gardens during the Baldwin period.