United States of America, Delaware, New Castle County, Wilmington
Goodstay (Wilmington, Delaware)
A du Pont family property, 16-acre Goodstay became the home of Ellen Coleman du Pont Meeds in 1923. In 1924 she undertook development of its gardens with Robert Wheelwright (from 1926 one of the principals of Wheelwright & Stevenson). Wheelwright was one of the founders of the journal Landscape Architecture, which he edited until 1920, and he also later married Ellen Meeds. Development of the gardens took about 13 years. A focal point was a Tudor-style square garden with three paths down and three crossing the squares. Other features included a lavender crocus drift on the lawn behind the house, a small woods, and a cutting garden highlighted by a magnolia walk, an allée of 38 pink magnolias ending at a circular pool and fountain. The property was given to the University of Delaware in 1969, where it serves as a conference center. Restoration of the gardens began in the early 1990s.
Persons and firms associated with the garden include: T. Coleman du Pont (former owner, 1911-1923); Ellen Coleman du Pont Meeds Wheelwright (former owner, 1923-1969); Hollyday S. Meeds, Jr. (former owner, 1923-?); Robert Wheelwright (landscape architect, 1924-1965); and Wheelwright & Stevenson (landscape architects, after 1926).
The folders include worksheets and photocopies of articles about the gardenone of which includes a garden plan.
Garden has been featured in Robert Wheelwright, "The Garden at 'Goodstay'," Landscape Architecture, XX, No. 1 (October 1929), pp. 5-11
Garden has been featured in Josephine Eccel, "UD Moves to Restore Lost Glory of Goodstay Gardens," The News Journal, September 5, 1991