2 folders+ 35 35 mm. slides, 12 photoprints and 43 glass lantern slides
Mixed archival materials
United States of America, Washington, Pierce County, Tacoma
Thornewood (Tacoma, Washington)
A 400 year old Elizabethan manor in England was purchased by Mr. Thorne and dismantled and shipped brick by brick from England to be included in the building of Thornewood. Thornewood, built in 1911, once covered 100 acres, from the American Lake shore to the Tacoma Country and Golf Club. The mountain served as the inspiration for the landscape design. "The mountain at a distance has been brought into the picture by means of long, horizontal lines, by the general contrivance of walks, borders, boundary walls, by the preservation of certain natural trees..." (Howe, 1915) The garden terminated with two arbors united with balustrades. A Japanese garden was planted in two corners near a water garden. Most of the estate was divided into 30 home sites in 1959. In 1982, the house was named to the National Register of Historic Places. By 1988, the property was reduced to three acres on the lake. The current owners use the house, "Thornewood Castle," and property as a bed and breakfast.
Persons associated with the garden include: Mr. Chester Thorne (former owner, 1910-1927 ); Perry and Connie Palmer (former owners, 1965-1988?); John C. Olmsted of Olmsted Brothers, Landscape Architects (landscape architect, 1910).
The folders include work sheets and copies of articles.
Garden featured in Mac Griswold and Eleanor Weller, Golden Age of American Gardens (New York: Harry N. Abrams, Inc., 1991), p. 308
Garden featured in Samuel Howe, American Country Houses of To-Day (New York: The Architectural Book Publishing Company, 1915), pp. 347-349
Garden featured in American Country Houses of To-Day (New York: The Architectural Book Publishing Company, 1913), pp. 102-107
Garden featured in Mrs. John Carroll Perkins, "Thornewood, on American Lake: The Residence of Mr. and Mrs. Chester Thorne at Tacoma, Washington," in The House Beautiful vol. 59 No. 3 (March 1926)