United States of America, Mississippi, Adams County, Natchez
Holly Hedges (Natchez, Mississippi)
The original deed of Holly Hedges was to Don Juan Scott from a previous relative, William Barland. The deed specified that Scott could not have any bull fights in the side yard. It is a house that dates back to 1796. Holly Hedges is laid out in the formal shape of the British flag in English boxwood. The edging beds are seasonally managed so there are year-round blossoms and interesting plants to view at all times.
Persons associated with the property include: Don Juan Scott (owner of land grant, 1796); Edward Turner (former owner, 1818); John and Mary Turner McMurran (former owners, 1832); Margaret H. Sanders (former owner, 1853); Ann Greaves Wheelock (former owner, 1853); Catherine Curry (former owner, 1875); Fanny Bontura (former owner, 1877); Theodora V. Wensel (former owner, 1880); Dan J. Grady, Trustee to Mrs. Caroline L. Korndorffer (former owner, 1936); Mrs. Zan Miller (former owner, 1948); Earl Hart Miller and Anthony Allen Miller (former owners, 1972); Mrs. Melody Armstrong (former owner, 1973); Alexander Wilson and Richard Koch (restoration architects, ca. 1948); Marie and Arthur Berger (garden designers, ca. 1948-1950); and Earl Hart Miller (interior decorator, 1948-1973).
This folder includes work sheets, copies of photographs, Natchez Metropolitan Planning Commission Landmarks Inventory of 1974, copies of maps, 1976 property description, formal garden plan, and newspaper articles.