United States of America, Virginia, Richmond County, Richmond
Virginia House (Richmond, Virginia)
The house, dating to 1125, was relocated from Warwickshire, England to Richmond, Virginia between 1925 and 1929. Called the Priory of St. Sepulchre, it served as a monastery for four hundred years. During the 1540s, the house was reconstructed as a manor house. Once moved to Richmond, Gillette designed the landscape with "pleasances," a series of small terraced gardens, pools, and paths. The pleasances include a water garden, perennial bed, azalea garden, tea garden, wildflower meadow, woodland walk, bog garden, pergola, and Sulgrave Garden.
Persons associated with the property include: Alexander Wilbourne and Virginia Chase Weddell (former owners, 1925-1928); Virginia Historical Society (owners, 1929-present); Charles Gillette (landscape designer, 1928-1940); and Henry Grant Morse (architect, 1925).
Folders include work sheets, brochures, and copies of articles.
Garden has been featured in Derek Fell, "Roots of Traditionalism," in Southern Accents (March-April 1989)
Garden has been featured in "Virginia House Gardens," Better Homes and Gardens America's Gardens (New York: Meredith Press, 1964), p. 25