1 folder+ 4 35 mm. slides and 5 glass lantern slides
Mixed archival materials
Castle Hill (Cobham, Virginia)
The mansion consists of two parts--the first built in 1764 by Dr. Thomas Walker and the second in 1824 by Senator and Mrs. William Cabell Rives. An hour-glass lawn and giant boxwood hedges make up a part of the landscape. Garden "rooms" were also created. In 1930, the landscape was described as "a great square, bounded on the north side by a high brick wall against which stand fig bushes, and enclosed on the other three sides by a Colonial arrowhead picket-fence. The garden lies in four deep terraces." (Potts 1930) The estate was open to the public from 1972 until ca. 1990. About ten years later the house was sold separate from the property. The house was subsequently moved off its foundations to a different location.
Persons associated with the property include: Dr. Thomas Walker (former owner, 1764); Senator and Mrs. William Cabell Rives (former owners, 1864); Col. Alfred Landon Rives (former owner); Amelie Rives (former owner); Col. and Mrs. Clark J. Lawrence (former owner, 1947); Mrs. Donald-Michael Bird (former owner, 1972); Wayne Newton (former owner); Alden Hopkins (landscape architect, 1947); and Judith Rives (designer of front lawn, 1832).
Folder includes work sheet, brochures, garden map, grounds tour, and copies of articles.
Garden featured in Frances Archer Christian and Susanne Williams Massie, eds., Homes and Gardens in Old Virginia, (Richmond, Virginia: Garrett and Massie, Incorporated, 1962), pp. 431, 435
Garden has been featured in Gertrude Rives Potts, Edith Tunis Sale, ed., Historic Gardens of Virginia (Richmond, Virginia: The William Byrd Press, INC., 1930), pp. 215-218
Garden has been featured in Edith Tunis Sale, ed., Manors of Virginia (Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott Company, 1909), pp. 229-243