United States of America, Virginia, Prince George County, Burrowsville
Brandon (Burrowsville, Virginia)
The Brandon tract was patented by James Martin, a son of Sir Richard Martin, of England, who in 1616 was granted ten shares of land by the Virginia Company. The tract was named after the town of Brandon in Suffolk, England. In 1909, the landscape consisted of informal flower beds and tall trees--many of which were previously imported from the West Indies. A box hedge was at a height of four feet near the house on the north side. Box also bordered the garden walks, interlined with chains of cowslips and daffodils. Broad, grassy walks were located between lilac and althea hedges. By 1934, the gardens showed some rectangular and square divisions with paths bordered by old box. In the 1960s, Brandon Farm consisted of 4,500 acres, of which 1,500 was under cultivation. Twelve families lived on the property during this time, with 15 men employed.
Persons associated with the property include: John Martin (owner of land grant, 1616); John Sadler, Richard Quiney, and William Barber (former owners, 1637); Benjamin Harrison, II. (former owner, 1712); Nathaniel Harrison (former owner, 1720); Robert Williams Daniel (former owner, 1926);Thomas Jefferson (designer of additions and center for house, ca. 1765); and Arthur Shurcliff (landscape architect).
Folders include worksheets, brochures, and copies of articles.
Garden has been featured in Brandon, Homes and Gardens in Old Virginia (Richmond, Virginia: Garrett and Massie, Incorporated, 1962), pp. 241-245
Garden has been featured in Alice B. Lockwood, ed., Gardens of Colony and State (New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1934), pp. 80-84
Garden has been featured in "The House in Good Taste," The House Beautiful Vol. 64 No. 6 (December 1928), pp. 709-715
Garden has been featured in Edith Tunis Sale, ed., James River Garden Club, compiler, Historic Gardens of Virginia, (Richmond, Virginia: The William Byrd Press Inc., 1930), pp. 9-12
Garden has been featured in Edith Tunis Sale, ed., Manors of Virginia (Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott Company, 1909), pp. 149-158