United States of America, Pennsylvania, Delaware County, Haverford, Havertown
The Grange (Havertown, Pennsylvania)
Arriving in 1682, Henry Lewis, a Welsh Quaker, named 500 acres "Maen Coch," meaning Red Stone, the name of his village in Wales. Lewis built the first section of the mansion in 1700. Captain John Wilcox bought the property in 1750, added onto the house and changed the name to Grange Hall. Over the years, different owners have added to the mansion and sold off different parcels of the estate. Benjamin R. Hoffman and his wife sold parcels, leaving the current 9.917 acres. Some of these parcels of land became what are now known as Chatham Park and Chatham Village. In 1974 Haverford Township purchased the acreage from Margaret Hoffman's Estate.
Persons and organizations associated with the garden include: Henry Lewis (former owner, 1682-?); Henry Lewis, III. (former owner, ?-1750); Captain John Wilcox (former owner, 1750-1761); Charles Cruikshank (former owner, 1761-1782); Clementina Cruikshank and John Ross (former owners, 1782-1800); John Brinton (former owner, 1811-1816); Manuel Eyre (former owner, 1816-1846); Harriet Eyre and John Ashhurst (resident tenants, 1846-?); Dennis Kelly (former owner, 1848); Mr. and Mrs. John Ashhurst (former owners, 1850-?); Benjamin R. Hoffman (former owner, 1913-1926); Margaret Clawson and Benjamin R. Hoffman (former owners, 1926-?); Martaret Hoffman's Estate (former owner); and Haverford Township (former owner, 1974-present).
The folder includes a worksheet and copies of articles.