United States of America, Georgia, Richmond County, Augusta
White Garden (Augusta, Georgia)
At its peak in the early to mid-20th century, this garden, also known as "The Hill," comprised seven individual gardens covering several acres. Over 35 varieties of camellias could be found there, in addition to numerous azaleas. The Italian Renaissance style house served as a focal point for the gardens, which ranged from a formal box garden to a "wild" garden featuring a century-old cedar covered with Spanish moss and a rocky pool. A wisteria-covered rustic tea house was covered with Marie Henriette roses, while a separate rose garden featured a sundial of old English lead guarded by four tall standard roses. Still extant in 1953, the garden is now mostly extinct and the property is owned by the Augusta Women's Club.
Persons associated with the garden include: Mr. and Mrs. William B. White (former owners, 20th century).
The folder includes a worksheet and photocopies of printed information about the garden.
Garden has been featured in Loraine Meeks Cooney, comp., Garden History of Georgia, 1733-1933 (Atlanta: The Peachtree Garden Club, 1933), pp. 308-310