Designed by John Evelyn in the mid- to late 17th century, the gardens at Albury Park owed much to the vision of owner Thomas Howard, Earl of Arundel. Working in the spirit of the Renaissance, Evelyn attempted to create something comparable to the Italian gardens of the previous century, highlighting terraces, water features, and classical sculpture. Two 400-yard-long terraces remain today. The upper terrace includes a semi-circular arcaded bay, overlooking a pool. This bay forms the entrance to a grotto and leads to a tunnel through the hillside. The lower terrace has a central doorway leading to an underground bathhouse. Many changes to Evelyn's original design were made in the 1920s, including draining of a long,rectangular canal below the terraces and the planting of many trees. Images of Albury Park in the Archives of American Gardens were taken during a 1929 Garden Club of America trip to the site.
Persons associated with the garden include: John Evelyn (landscape architect, ca. 1655-1670); and Thomas Howard, Earl of Arundel (former owner, 17th century).
The folder includes a worksheet and photocopies of articles about the garden.
Garden has been featured in Christopher Thacker, England's Historic Gardens (Great Britain: Headline, 1989), pp. 18-19
Garden has been featured in Mary Keen, The Glory of the English Garden (Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 1989), pp.56-57
Garden has been featured in Graham Rose and Peter King, eds., The Good Gardens Guide 1990 (London: Barrie & Jenkins, 1990), p.354