United States of America, Connecticut, Fairfield County, Fairfield
The Oaks (Fairfield, Connecticut)
"The Oaks" is a Marian Coffin garden, designed in 1927, for which she received the coveted Gold Medal from the Architectural League of New York in 1930. The garden was known for its formal rose garden, its four arched bowers constructed of pleached white pine (Pinus strobus) and elaborate arched entry gates, which are located within a naturalized setting of woodland and rock outcroppings. In 1990, the house was razed and the land was sold for development.
Persons associated with the property and garden include: Marian Coffin (garden designer); Jonathan Godfrey (former owner); and Mr. and Mrs. Edgar W. Bassick (former owners, ca. 1920)
The folder includes a work sheet and copies of articles.
Garden featured in Nancy M. Fleming, "Marian Coffin and the Roses in Her Landscapes," Journal of the New England Garden History Society, Vol. 2 (fall ?), p. 52
Garden featured in Ernest H. Wilson, V.M.H., "Pleached Alleys and Their Planting," House & Garden, Vol. 55, No. 2 (Februrary 1929)
Garden featured in Marian C. Cofffin, "Making a Rose Garden," House & Garden, Vol. 53, No. 6 (June 1928)