United States of America, North Carolina, Forsyth County, Winston-Salem
Traugott Bagge House (Winston-Salem, North Carolina)
The original house on the property was torn down in 1917 and then reconstructed in 1970. The design of the garden is based on a 1734 Savannah engraving that is a circular design with four quadrants. The garden design utilizes extensive use of stonework.
Persons associated with the property include: Traugott Bagge (previous owner, 1787); Michael Hammond (archeologist, 1986); Franklin-Smith (architect, 1987); Dan Franklin (primary architect, 1987); Wilson-Covington Construction CO. (fences and out-building); Michael Henley (stone mason); and Goodes Tree Movers (tree spader).
The folder includes a work sheet and site plans.
Garden is featured in "Room to Grow", Winston-Salem Journal, August 5, 1995