United States of America, Pennsylvania, Chester County, Chester Springs
The Schoolhouse (Chester Springs, Pennsylvania)
The Mt. Vernon schoolhouse was built in 1851. It closed in 1913 and remained vacant until it sold in 1928, when it was converted into a bungalow for private use. The schoolhouse, which is listed on the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission Register of Historic Sites and Landmarks, sits on a knoll with dry woods to the north and east. The natural plants in the woods gradually mix with perennial borders. Whenever possible, indigenous plants are grown.
Person associated with the garden include: Mr. and Mrs. Austin G. Maury (former owners, 1928-?), Dr. and Mrs. Edmund Meinfelder (former owners, ?-1984); and Mr. and Mrs. John Campbell Miller (former owners, 1984-1987).
The folder includes a work sheet and site plans.
Access to original images by appointment only. Researcher must submit request for appointment in writing. Certain items may be restricted and not available to researchers. Please direct reference inquiries to the Archives of American Gardens: firstname.lastname@example.org