United States of America, Georgia, Richmond County, Augusta
Clark House (Augusta, Georgia)
The home was constructed in 1929 by Mrs. Clark (of the Coats and Clark Co.) as her vacation home with extensive formal gardens. Purchased in 1944 by its current owners, the house was completely renovated under the direction of Albert Cheatham, AIA. At that time, the grounds were redesigned by William Smith. The iron gates and fencing along Milledge Road were brought from the original Augusta courthouse by Judge Fred kennedy. The aggregate driveway is bordered by cobblestones that were obtained from an old railroad. A huge, old magnolia tree is enhanced by fern and jasmine under plantings. The grounds to the rear of the home are a formal English garden. From the flagstone patio, a long, smooth expanse of green lawn leads to the English folly. Along the back wall of the folly is a lovely bronze fountain, "Girl with Bird and Bowl." A gardener's cottage and a chauffeur's cottage, built while Mrs. Clark occupied the house, are at the rear of the property.
Persons and firms associated with the garden include: Mrs. J. William Clark (former owner, 1929-?); Judge and Mrs. Frederick Kennedy (former owner, ?-1944); William Smith (landscape architect, 1994); and Albert Cheatham (architect, 1994).
The folder includes a work sheet, garden plans, and a postcard.